It was a big weekend for WCHS (ABC), which was recognized for the second year in a row as Television Station of the Year. 

The award was presented Saturday during the West Virginia Broadcasters Association’s awards ceremony.

In addition to the top honor, several station employees received individual honors – Kennie Bass (Best Investigative News Story or Series); Kallie Moore (Best Anchor); Latasha Saunders (Best PM Newscast); and Leslie Rubin (Best Breaking News and Best Serious Feature).

Rubin’s awards were for her coverage of the Lewis County murder trial of Lena Marie Lunsford Conaway, who was convicted in the death of her 3-year-old daughter, Aliayah, and an interview she did with Aliayah’s sister, Destiny Cole, following the trial.

In April, WCHS-TV was named Outstanding News Operation of the Virginias. Judges selected WCHS from stations throughout West Virginia and Virginia.

More News from Thursday, May 9, 2019